Call for Participation | Panels

Important Dates

  • 9 September 2011, 5:00 PM PDT: Submissions due via email ()
  • 28 October 2011: Notification of acceptance
  • 1 December 2011: Final version of abstracts due

Panels are a great way to generate debate and raise new and interesting issues at CSCW. With panels we want to provide a forum for discussing provocative, controversial, innovative, emerging, boundary-spanning and boundary-breaking issues. The best panels provide opportunities for audience participation. We especially encourage innovative formats that will engage the audience, that address critical and contemporary topics, and that engage multiple disciplines in productive dialog. Is a panel a kind of cooperative work that can benefit from some kind of computer support? Or not?

While paper sessions provide detailed discussions of work recently completed, panels provide an opportunity to explore what is on the horizon — or what is already here but not adequately recognized, acknowledged or discussed.

Panel proposals should be no longer than 4 pages and should include the panel topic, the names of the panelists, one paragraph biographical sketches describing each panelist's expertise and the proposed structure and format of the panel. The final abstract should also include a position statement by each panelist and an overview of the ways in which the position statements relate to each other. If supporting technologies are required, the proposal should clearly list these. A sample proposal can be obtained by contacting the Panels Co-chairs. When a panel submission is accepted it is the organizer's responsibility to receive confirmation from the panelists.

Accepted proposals will be published in the ACM Digital Library and distributed to attendees as part of the Conference Extended Abstracts. Submissions must follow the Extended Abstract Format.

Panel submissions should be e-mailed to the Panels Co-chairs at . All panel submissions are due by 5:00 p.m. (17:00) Pacific Daylight Time on September 9, 2011.

Panels Co-Chairs

Myriam Lewkowicz, Troyes University of Technology
Michael Twidale, University of Illinois